Inner State Gallery Presents Lyric 3 Curated by Glenn Barr
Musically Themed Group Exhibit Featuring Over 40 International Artists


Digital Catalog & Online Check Out Available on 1xRUN -

Opening Friday August 14th, Inner State Gallery is proud to announce Lyric 3 a musically themed group exhibition curated by legendary Detroit artist Glenn Barr. Gathering over 50 artists from around the globe, Barr had one simple request: Each piece of art must be 12 x 12 inches, paying homage to the timeless beauty that can fit on the cover of a vinyl record. From there, each artist has been given free reign to draw inspiration from their favorite artist, album, song or lyric.   

“Music and its lyrics can always stimulate our emotions, as well as leave us contemplating a visual narrative. Artists have used lyrics as inspiration and as a muse in their work to express an idea or a phrase for eons. History has shown us that they have created some of the greatest works in the world when guided by a melody and its words. This exhibition will illuminate the artist’s personal transcription from a song lyric to canvas,” Barr said from his Corktown studio.

As the storied exhibition returns for the 3rd year, Lyric 3 finds the storied exhibition with its most ambitious lineup to date. Featured artists from around the globe include: Adam Miller - Andrew Krieger - Askew - Brian Lacey - Camilla d’Errico - Casey Weldon - Charlie Immer - Chris Dean - Chris Saunders - Clinton Snider - Corine Vermeulen - Dalek - Dan Armand - Defer - Denial - Derek Hess - Doctor Eye - Erik Otto - Fulvio Di Piazza - Glenn Barr - Jakob Westman - Jason Limon - Jasper Wong - Jim Houser - John Dunivant - John Wentz - Kamea Hadar - Kenor - Luke Chueh - Made514 - Marco Mazzoni - Matt Gordon - Michael Page - Michelle Andonian - Mike Giant - Nicola Kuperus - Persue - Remi Rough - Rick Morris - Robert Nixon - Ron English - Ron Zakrin - Scott Hocking - Shark Toof - Spencer Keeton Cunningham - Stan Manoukian - Stephanie Buer - Stephanie Henderson - Tom Thewes - Travis Louie Trevor Young - Vans The Omega - William Wray - Yumiko Kayukawa

Opening artist reception will begin at 7pm on August 14th from 7 - 10 pm.